Erfurt, as a capital city, forms the very centre of administration and media in Thuringia.

All the ministries and almost all Thuringia’s governmental agencies are seated here as well as a number of other federal offices and agencies.

All the important banks and insurance companies have their offices in Erfurt as well as all the major health insurance companies.

The "Deutsche Gewerkschaftsbund" (German Association of Trade Unions) has its Thuringian main office in Erfurt together with individual member unions.

The Thuringian "Industrie- und Handelskammer" and the "Handwerkskammer" (Chambers of Industry, Trade and Commerce) as well as the associations of the employers and the Thuringian union of villages, towns and cities have their head offices in Erfurt.

More than 20 editorial offices for radio stations, television channels and print media are resident in Erfurt.
This includes the "Landesstudio Thüringen" of the ZDF, the "Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk" and "Landesfunkhaus Thüringen" as well as the bestselling daily paper "Thüringer Allgemeine". Several news agencies have established a permanent office in Erfurt. The "Kinderkanal" (children’s channel) of ARD and ZDF is both produced and broadcast in Erfurt.